• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Events

Course "Scientific Poster Presentation in English: From Theory to Practice"

This course is focused on analysing, studying, and creating a research poster. Posters now are one of the most prevailing means of presenting information at different conferences. However, a poster presentation as a genre is often neglected, and conference participants experience difficulty making posters engaging and efficient. Conference delegates often suffer from the so-called paradox of choice, when there are too many presentations on display, but few stand out.

This course aims to provide you with the instruments for delivering an effective poster presentation, starting from its planning and design to oral presentation. We will try to make your poster practices more efficient in meeting the needs of the academic community. 

The course includes three input sessions, covering the mechanics of the poster creation, and one session for individual poster presentations, including oral delivery, Q&A,  and feedback.

Trainer: Ekaterina Redkina is a psychologist and a qualified EFL teacher with more than 10 years of experience. She is a CELTA, TKT CLIL, IHCAM and DELTA (M1-2) holder, and a Fulbright scholar. Currently, she teaches academic and professionally oriented skills to Russian psychology students at Lomonosov Moscow State University. Her primary interests are CLIL, ESP, EAP, lesson frameworks, syllabus and materials design, and the use of information technology in the ELT practice.

Dates: October 27 - November 24 on Tuesdays ((27.10, 03.11, 10.11, 24.11)
Time: 17:00 - 20:00
Location: Pokrovsky Boulevard 11, K-416

English level requirement: B2

How do I get accepted? You should be a full-time employee from teaching or research staff at the HSE.

The course is offered on the competitive enrolment basis. Please, fill out an online registration form and write a motivation letter in English (about 300 words). It should include your experience of participating in international scientific conferences and preparing presentations in English. Please describe the difficulties you have faced when preparing a scientific presentation and explain how new skills are relevant to your teaching and scientific work.

For more information on how to write a strong motivation letter, please read the AWC blog.

Registration

Add to calendar

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
Важные объявления 1

Мероприятия

Курс "Poster Presentation: Way to a Great International Conference"

Мероприятие завершено

Постерная презентация - одна из самых популярных форм представления информации на международных конференциях. Основная цель курса - развитие навыков презентации результатов научного исследования в форме стендового доклада или постерной презентации на английском языке в соответствии с требованиями академического сообщества. Участники получат возможность пройти весь путь разработки постерной презентации от планирования и дизайна до устного выступления.

Содержание программы курса охватывает основные аспекты составления стендового доклада (задачи, структуру, дизайн, оформление, расположение модулей) и особенности его презентации на английском языке (правила лексического, грамматического, синтаксического и стилистического оформления; «крючки» или способы привлечения и удержания внимания аудитории).

На первых трех занятиях курса мы подробно познакомимся с процессом создания стендового доклада. Участники напишут текст для своей презентации и создадут шаблоны в Power Point. Четвертое занятие будет полностью посвящено презентации собственных постеров с обязательной обратной связью.

Преподаватель: Eкатерина Редькина, психолог, преподаватель английского языка с более чем 10-ти летним стажем, обладатель международных сертификатов CELTA, TKT CLIL, IHCAM и DELTA (модули 1 и 2). Обучалась в Англии и проходила стажировку в США по программе Fulbright. В настоящее время Екатерина работает преподавателем английского языка на факультете психологии МГУ.  В сферу ее интересов входят преподавание общего английского, английского для профессиональных и академических целей (ESP, EAP и CLIL), методика преподавания, разработка учебных программ и возможности применения IT в обучении английскому языку.

Продолжительность: с 18 мая по 8 июня по вторникам (18.05, 25.05, 01.06, 08.06)
Место проведения:  Покровский бульвар 11, K-416
Время занятий: 17:00-20:00

Минимальный уровень владения английским языком: B2

Как стать слушателем? Вы можете подать заявку на курс, если НИУ ВШЭ является Вашим основным местом работы (трудовая книжка находится в НИУ ВШЭ) и Вы относитесь к категории преподавателей или научных сотрудников (ППС или НС). Необходимо заполнить форму регистрации и написать мотивационное письмо.

Отбор на курс ведется на конкурсной основе, основным критерием является мотивационное письмо на английском языке (300 слов). Опишите Ваш опыт участия в научных конференциях и подготовки презентаций на английском языке. Укажите основные сложности, которые возникали у Вас при подготовке научной презентации и кратко опишите, как Вы сможете применить новые навыки.

Чтобы получить более подробную информацию о том, как писать мотивационное письмо, читайте наш блог.

Программа курса

Регистрация